RSS

*A Crafty Holiday Blog Hop*

17 Nov

Hello and welcome! If you are looking for Angela Flicker’s A Crafty Holiday Blog Hop event you are in the right place! For those of you just now jumping on board, here’s the scoop: 35 bloggers are joining together to share our thoughts on giving handmade gifts for the holidays. One blogger is highlighted every day from November 1 – December 16. You can view the full schedule here.

So, what does it mean to me to give a handmade gift? It means a whole lot. In essence, giving a gift is sharing your heart. Tangibly giving someone something that represents your relationship. The good times, the bad, the joy, the tears, the hugs…

I think we’d all agree that relationships don’t develop over night. This is why I love giving handmade gifts, they aren’t made over night either. They are a result of intention, time and effort all poured into something beautiful. They have personality, charm and even a few blemishes. That’s what makes them unique. That’s what makes them one of a kind. Special. And worth the effort. That is why giving handmade gifts is important to me.  It helps me get one step closer to tangibly showing those I love just how much I care.

Have you ever received a handmade gift? What made it so special? Share your thoughts in the comment section, I’d love to hear what you have to say!

For those of you out there that have a knack for making handmade gifts, feel free to leave a link in the comment section to share with us what your working on. I’m sure we will all appreciate a few gift ideas over the next few weeks as the Holidays come at full speed!

Here are a few items that caught my eye, I hope you will enjoy them too:

Ocean Treasures Starfish Necklace by EVAlution Jewelry

Rustic Brown Owl Tree Bark Ornaments Set of Two by vintage green limited

Alphabet Photography - Custom Name Frame Print in Architectural Photos by Java Jane Designs

Cricket Love Song - harvest hair comb by Which Goose

Men's Bicycle Wallet by in blue

Lg Format Joy Print by The Wheat Field

Thank you for stopping by! I hope I gave you a little something to ponder and a few Etsy shops to explore. Be sure to visit Anna tomorrow at her blog, The Road to the Farm.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on November 17, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

18 responses to “*A Crafty Holiday Blog Hop*

  1. Stefany (Alycia Engel Studio)

    November 17, 2010 at 6:37 am

    I make and give handmade items to all of my closest friends & familiy. It feels like giving them a little piece of me. Recently, I went to a friends birtday party, and about a week later I received a thank you card in the mail. It was obvious that this card was not mass produced & you could see the love that was put into it. It gave me a very special feeling.

     
  2. Nancy Goulet

    November 17, 2010 at 7:27 am

    I remember getting handmade gifts from my children that they would make in school, church or just by themselves. They were so proud of what they had done even if it wasn’t “perfect”. The joy that lit up their faces was precious and a memory that warms my heart even today when they think they are too old to do that sort of thing anymore.
    My almost 17 year old daughter is struggling with finding a job and therefore money to buy Christmas gifts. She jokingly said she would make me a gift like she used to in kindergarten. I, not jokingly, said I would love that. We’ll see what I get for Christmas! I hope it’s HANDMADE!

     
  3. Prairie Primitives Folk Art (Tana)

    November 17, 2010 at 7:34 am

    Hi Emily! Your blog hop sounds like fun!

    Shopping local and buying handmade are two of my passions! Because of this, I founded the Sac Etsy Team almost 2 years ago now. This Team is a group of artists living in and near Sacramento, California who have shops on Etsy. You can view the work of these artists by searching for Sac Etsy Team on Etsy!

    Thanks for the invitation to post about what I’m working on! I have just one more craft fair this year, so most of my crafting is done. I am currently finishing up a couple of Santas and hope to get another few made before the Dec. 4th show. If I have time after that, I may make a few Christmas stockings. If this is read by anyone in the SF Bay Area, come to the Bird in Hand Folk Art & Antiques Fair in downtown Los Altos (across from Draeger’s) on Dec. 4th! The hours are 9:30 to 1:30, and there’s usually a line when the doors open at 9:30!

     
  4. Angela Flicker

    November 17, 2010 at 8:28 am

    I love receiving handmade gifts too. My hubby makes me the most beautiful handmade jewelry. I love getting compliments on it, because then I think of him ;)

    I’m loving that bike wallet and that beautiful hair pin.

    Thanks for this lovely post.

     
  5. Angela Flicker

    November 17, 2010 at 8:41 am

    I just bought that wallet for my hubby. Love it :)

     
  6. Amanda Davis

    November 17, 2010 at 8:46 am

    Love the owl ornaments! Yes, please! Thanks for the great post!

     
  7. Stephey Baker

    November 17, 2010 at 8:59 am

    I’ve been creating since I was a kid and so handmade has always been the equivalent to sharing more of my heart with friends and family. If am not buying handmade than making handmade is next! thanks so much for sharing these artists – I especially like the leather wallet – now that would make a great journal cover!

     
  8. Kristen

    November 17, 2010 at 9:04 am

    those owl ornaments are so adorable! i now have them on my wish list! love the bicycle wallet too. blog hop has been great each morning thanks for sharing!

     
  9. Kristen

    November 17, 2010 at 9:05 am

    and I have been a fan of The Wheatfeild for awhile, their work is beautiful!

     
  10. Kim O'Brien

    November 17, 2010 at 9:08 am

    i too love the owls.

     
  11. LeAnne Ritter

    November 17, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Handmade gifts have always been special to me and I love to give a piece of my handmade jewelry or other gifts to my friends and family for the holidays. I try to keep in mind what they’ve shown an interest in during the year and then make something especially for them. Much nicer than getting something you bought on sale months ago and then tried to figure out who to give it to!

     
  12. Sparkling Sisters Jewelry (Dianne)

    November 17, 2010 at 9:46 am

    I have always loved creating things and sharing them with my loved ones. My current passion is designing jewelry. I love seeing the look in someone’s eyes when they fall in love with one of my creations! It’s such a great feeling.

    When I was a little girl, I used to love waking up after a big overnight snow storm. I’d peek out the window, the sun would be shining bright, and everything just glistened! Ever since then, I’ve loved all things sparkly and creating sparkling jewelry gives me that pleasure all the time!

    I create quality hand-crafted semi-precious gemstone and Swarovski Elements crystal jewelry. My jewelry made with Swarovski Elements crystals make great wedding or special occasion jewelry. I’ve researched the healing properties of gemstones and developed several Chakra and Healing Bracelets for common health concerns. Please check out my shop to see if one could help you or a loved one. http://www.SparklingSisters.etsy.com

    So yes, please buy hand-crafted this year and show someone you care enough to really put some thought into their gift. And that you’re supporting small business in America!

     
  13. Sarah - dodeline design

    November 17, 2010 at 10:34 am

    I LOVE that bicycle wallet, that is so freaking cool!

     
  14. whatnomints

    November 17, 2010 at 11:06 am

    Those owl ornaments are super-cute!

    Thanks so much for sharing :)

     
  15. jahje aka baby jives

    November 17, 2010 at 11:12 am

    that joy print is wonderful! thanks for sharing and i loved reading your thoughts about why handmade.

     
  16. Amy Johnson

    November 17, 2010 at 11:45 am

    I couldn’t agree more, Emily. I love the idea of giving someone a gift that is one-of-a-kind, and tailored especially to them. I create all different kinds of things from jewelry to totebags to pet toys to bath and body products, and I love the reaction I get when someone opens my gifts and really, really likes it.

    There’s a special feeling that comes from meeting the artists and getting to know their stories that you don’t get when you walk into a faceless retail monopoly and hand them your hard-earned money. I like knowing that I’m not supporting sweatshops and slave labor to create tacky, cheap crap that will end up in the landfill. When you buy handmade, you’re making an investment in someone’s future and their craft, which is invaluable.

    If you’re interested in knowing a bit more about me and what I do, you can visit my Etsy shop at http://www.revitalizedvintage.etsy.com, or look for me (Revitalized Vintage) on Facebook.

    Have a fabulous day and a wonderful handmade holiday. :)

    Amy

     
  17. Brandi

    November 17, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Beautifully written post! I love giving handmade gifts to people who may not be that exposed to handmade in general. Once I tell them it’s handmade, either by me or another artist, their face lights up. It’s great to watch as they wrap their mind around the fact that this gift was made by someone!

     
  18. Ashley Wright

    November 21, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    Love it! I am so excited to give handmade gift this year and be proud to be selling them in my local community! Check out my special jewelry blog: http://jewelrybyashleyking.blogspot.com

     

Leave a Reply

