RSS

Me & My Tree

30 Nov

On Saturday I put up my few Christmas decorations but felt like Holiday Cheer was still lacking in my apartment. I decided to sit on it for a few days before I invested in some additional decor. Thus far in my adult life I move far too often and have closets far too small to really invest in Christmas decorations. It never made the top of my priority list. Well, I’m getting tired of my lone strand of Christmas lights and wanted to do it up this year… but also am not interested in holiday crowds and throwing elbows to get a good deal on a tree.

So that’s the back story.

Fast forward to Sunday evening. I am going for a walk in my lovely little neighborhood as the sun is setting. I’m about a half mile out when I see the cutest little Charlie Brown Christmas tree propped up against a fence with a scrawled ‘FREE’ sign attached! Could this really be?!  Fear that my new-found tree will be snatched up by someone else if I walked back to get my car,  I pick up this 5 foot beauty and start the trek home. Me and my tree made it back in one piece – a true Christmas miracle. She’s a real gem and fits perfectly in my living room. Thank you to my lovely neighbor [whom I thanked, by the way] for spreading Christmas joy all throughout Normal Heights!

The world is truly a good place.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on November 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

12 responses to “Me & My Tree

  1. Stephanie

    November 30, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    Congratulations!!! Your tree is beautiful. You were meant to be together.

     
  2. Susan

    November 30, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    It was meant to be you and your tree! It is lovely! TFS Susan

     
  3. Jackie Ritsema

    November 30, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    I love love love the tree! Mostly because i have its friend at my house! It looks perfect!

     
  4. Jackie Ritsema

    November 30, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    I put mine on a small round table with a table cloth… Just to give it a little height!

     
  5. bobbycressey

    November 30, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    Awesome story.

     
  6. ashley stroud

    November 30, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    Aww great story em! I can just picture you trecking that tree across the neighbor hood! lol yay!

     
  7. Debi Nowak-Hawkes

    November 30, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    It’s just beautiful! How lucky that it found a loving home ….. with you.

     
  8. Graham

    November 30, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    Your living room looks so warm and ready to make memories :-)

     
  9. Anna

    December 1, 2010 at 9:43 am

    I love it! Nothing like a little spirit of Christmas!

     
  10. Karel

    December 1, 2010 at 11:24 am

    Your tree is adorable! I’m so glad you have one this year! What a nice neighbor.

     
  11. Ashley King

    December 7, 2010 at 2:51 am

    I love it! What a score. perfect way to start off December!

     

Leave a Reply

