RSS

Where to begin…

14 Jan

As you can imagine, the past few weeks have been a bit of a whirlwind, but in the best way possible. There have been a few adjustments – referring to Graham as my fiancé instead of my boyfriend, writing out 2011 instead of 2010 [still working on this one], and wrapping my mind around the fact that this year is going to kick butt.

For those with curious minds and about wedding planning… yes, Graham and I have dove straight into wedding planning. To be honest, I find it pretty ‘do-able’ and not nearly as crazy/stressful as some people make it out to be. Pretty fun, actually. But then again, I’ve only been engaged for three weeks [to the day!]. In these three weeks Graham and I have managed to nail down our day, venue, caterer and photographer – not too bad ! ! !

As we start this journey of wedding planning, I’m beginning to realize that many people go about this big day in many different ways. My perspective is: we are planning a special day to share with our family and friends. There is not a single detail that can completely ruin this day. It’s about our marriage, not about coordinating our wedding invitations with the flowers, which in turn coordinate with the bridesmaid shoes. That just sounds far to stressful and a bit ridiculous! Keeping ourselves in check and focusing on the big picture really helps things moving along. Our next big item is finding a DJ. Any recommendations in the San Diego area?

Outside of wedding planning, life is pretty darn good. I was going to post some pictures of the past few weeks then realized I don’t have any! Does that ever happen to you? Life happens yet for days and weeks on end you simply forget to take out your camera and capture it?! Well, I don’t want to leave you hanging, so I’ll post a few more pictures from Christmas to tie you over until the next post ;-)

 

Visiting my sweet Oma

Wine tasting in Healdsberg, California

Beautiful tress - one of the things I miss most in San Diego

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Where to begin…

  1. Debi Nowak-Hawkes

    January 14, 2011 at 8:22 am

    Dear FDIL,

    Your wedding, your big day, your commitment to each other – that’s all that matters. Colin and I basically eloped and so did my parents because none of us had any money but we knew we loved each other. I think a lot of people fantasize of having a certain kind of wedding and get lost in the details of IT instead of their fiance’s arms. I didn’t even have an engagement ring until after we were married for 8 years. That sounds extreme even to me now but a diamond on my hand didn’t matter because I had the man that I loved on my arm!

    My parents were married for 62 years (my dad died two years ago) and Colin and I will celebrate 34 years this July 2.

    Big hugs,
    YFMIL

     
  2. emilymyer

    January 14, 2011 at 9:56 am

    Wow, congratulations on 34 years Debi! You and Colin are so sweet together – I think it’s your humor and respect for one another :) I hope we can see you two sometime soon!

     

Leave a Reply

