RSS

Precision

27 Jan

A few weeks ago I hit jackpot at a local thrift store. Three pairs of jeans for under $50. Oh yea, that’s what I’m talking about! Just like every other pair of jeans I’ve ever tried on, they were all too long. Sidenote: how is it that I’m 5’3″, average size yet it is nearly impossible to find pants that actually FIT?! Anyone else run into this, or have I hit a lifetime streak of bad-jean-luck?? Anyways, I digress…

Tonight I finally had a chance to hem these puppies so I whip out my sewing machine and embark on my standard three-step hemming process. It looks a little something like this:

Step 1: put on jeans, stand in front of mirror and fold extra pant leg material under

Step 2: c-a-r-e-f-u-l-l-y take off said jeans [as to not to adjust the fold]

Step 3: sew a standard straight stitch approximately 1/2″ from the bottom of my newly made crease

Voila! I now have a pair of pants that won’t drag on the floor! I managed to complete all three pairs within the hour.

For those of you who have a knack for sewing you may have noticed I skipped a step or two. Actually, per this hemming tutorial I skipped a whopping 6 steps! Personally, this does not faze me one bit. Yes, the seams on my pants are admittedly uneven sometimes. Also, I must confess I accidentally create a pair of Capri pants from time to time [read: high waters]. The thing is, the idea of following such precise steps sounds dreadful. The measuring, the pinning, the ironing. When in the end, we achieve the same goal: shorter pants.

This lack of precision is something I’ve discovered recently and it came as quite a surprise. I do love me some detail & organization. To-do lists. Excel spreadsheets. Organizing books by height and fine tuning my finances. I love all of it. So for most of my life I assumed I was a detail oriented person through and through. It has since been revealed that this knack for detail does not touch all areas of my life. I am still in the process of discovering what details are in and what details are out. It’s an interesting journey. For example: I will scour the grocery store looking for the best deals. Down to the penny. However, when it comes time to cook my grocery store finds I rarely use a recipe. Last week I walked into my kitchen aiming to bake a dessert. We ended up with something I’ve dubbed Apple Delight. It consists of Bisquik, milk, sugar, cinnamon and diced apples. Tossed in the oven around 375* until it looked done. Amazing.

So what is it for you? What do you fine tune? Likewise, what are details that get tossed out the window?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Precision

  1. Debi Nowak-Hawkes

    January 28, 2011 at 8:07 am

    I like the sound of that dessert and I’m impressed that you can hem jeans!

    I not particular about too many things but I do like to “fine tune” travel plans. I scour the internet best deals and location of hotels, airfare prices and convenient flight times. After I get all the pieces in place, I print out the information and place them in a plastic folder for easy access (by anyone) and I call it “the knowledge” because it has EVERYTHING we need to know about our trip in one place. …plane tickets, hotel reservation, itinerary,etc.. I’m flexible once we get where we are going but I try not to leave too much to chance for the important stuff. You had a taste of this when we did our Segway tour. The only thing I didn’t have planned for that day was going to Coronado Island and that was super fun! Cooking….I rarely follow a recipe and I come up with some awesome stuff…just can’t always recreate it since I don’t do a lot of measuring…….just tasting!

    Love you….. Debi

     
  2. jazzyjess49

    January 28, 2011 at 11:30 am

    I can’t toss out any of the extra steps, because if I do find a pair of jeans that fit every where else, I can’t afford to mess up the hems! I’m chunky in the middle, so it’s hard to find jeans to fit me at all ;-) I don’t like Capri pants, and have a small budget, so careful hemming is the only option for me. But the easiest way to measure is to use a pair that fit you the way you like and use their measurements. Or lay the finished pair onto the new pair and use the leg to measure where the hem should be. You don’t even have to put them on to do that!

     
  3. Alexis Yael

    March 25, 2011 at 9:44 am

    I’m 5’4″ and jeans almost never fit me length-wise! UGH! I’ve never hemmed any of my jeans, tho (just let them drag) because I am not a precision sewer… actually, I’m mostly not into precision in any area of my life (except academically/ research/ writing — you know, anything that involves words). LOL

    Well, I take that back: I am more organized than I give myself credit for, but it’s a weird sort of organization that other people wouldn’t necessarily see… but it works for me!

     

Leave a Reply

