RSS

Somewhere In Between

09 Mar

Lately I have been feeling the weight of being somewhere in between.

Wedding planning is a lot of fun, for the most part. However, all of this focus on wedding planning has left me in this in between place. I am where I am, which is great, but so much focus on my life is pointing towards something that will be in four-ish months.

My living situation recently shifted into the in between stage as well. My maid of honor and her husband very generously offered to let me stay in the second bedroom in their newly purchased two bedroom condo. Ashley and I were roommates during and after college – so it’s a nice taste of nostalgia living with her again. And Mark is just great. Oh, and they recently got a dog too. So it’s a happy, full little household. This transition will not only save money but will also be a huge help as Graham and I merge our lives together. It is a strong value of ours to hold off on living together until we’re married.  Unfortunately this creates a logistical nightmare. One of us would most likely move to a new apartment in the beginning of July, we’d be paying double or maybe even triple rent. Not to mention all of this would be unfolding the weeks prior to [or during or after] our wedding. This new arrangement makes the whole transition easier. In addition to the cozy home and logistical benefits comes the reality that I am in a holding zone for a few months. Not in my old place and not yet married and living with Graham.

While all this in between feels very new, unsettled and constantly moving, I think it’s  good for me. I tend to keep busy and make decisions quickly. I think this time in limbo will allow me an opportunity to slow down, reflect and prepare for what’s next. Not so much preparing logistically [although I’m sure there will be plenty of that] but preparing myself emotionally. To spend time thinking, processing and planning what I want my life to look like. What does it mean to be a wife? What does it looks like to combine lives with a totally separate person? What areas of our lives will overlap and how will I continue to pursue my own interests? What does all this mean to ME? Lots of processing on the horizon and I’m sure it’s going to be quite a journey.

Now I want to open the floor to all of you. What journey are you on in life right now?  How do you deal with change, transition, and waiting for what is to come?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Somewhere In Between

  1. pam sadler

    March 9, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    Well, sorry I’m not responding to your questions… but just wanted to bring up a bk: “The Seven Principles For Making Marriage Work” by John Gottman. Have you read of it? Well, very interesting… speaking of transitions, and marriage…

     
  2. Cody

    March 9, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    Hi Emily, I love your blog! I totally went through the same transition when I was engaged. That “in between” time was really interesting for me, but it went by so fast! All I know is that my wedding day was the most amazing day of my life and knowing that I would be living with my new husband from that day forward was the coolest feeling ever.

    I hope you are doing well and congrats again!

     
  3. Ashley King

    March 11, 2011 at 12:28 am

    Em, I totally know how you feel. I actually realized that transition after Aaron and I got married. We are trying to shift our life over to Seattle and are going to have to sacrifice time together, and $$$ for rent in two places….I just keep telling myself a transition is hard, but it also always leads to something new and great, and the hardships throughout that transition are part of life’s journey…. Love you!

     

Leave a Reply

