RSS

Starbucks [attempted] Romance

26 Apr

A few days ago I stopped at a local Starbucks to enjoy a cup ‘o coffee & some journaling. As I sat there a middle-aged man who appeared to be homeless “in transition” would periodically ask me questions…

“Are you a writer? I’m a poet – I like to write poems”

“Do you have a camera, you’re just so cute I want to take a picture of you”

“Are you from around here?”

I gave courteous one word answers and non-verbal queues that I wasn’t interested in engaging in conversation. I’m all for meeting new people [there’s no denying I’m an extrovert] but I came here for a quiet morning and not interested in taking the bait at an attempt to flirt.

After approximately fifteen minutes he pulls up a chair next to me and tells me he has a poem he’d like me to write down. Not too sure how to respond I flip to a fresh page of paper and am ready for whatever prose comes out of his mouth. This was his poem for me…

I’ll never beat you
I’ll never lie
‘Cuz I’m just a cool, loving, tender guy
I’ll never leave you
I’ll never go
‘Cuz you know why?
Because I love you so
Love is not a game
You and I can feel the pain
But my feelings for you would never be the same
Give me a chance and I’ll fill your heart with so much romance
Seeing you today
There’s just a lot of things to say
I hope you feel the same way
 

I just sat there for a second, with a funny look on my face – a mix of creeped out and amused. I don’t recall how I responded, but I think it was along the lines of “wow, that’s interesting. um, thank you. I need to get going to work” [which was true for the record]. Wow. Well, that was a first…!



 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Starbucks [attempted] Romance

  1. Debi Nowak-Hawkes

    April 27, 2011 at 7:24 am

    Awww….a love sonet from a homeless man… I would feel a little creeped out too! You have such a sweet and friendly looking face that he probably couldn’t contain himself. And I don’t blame him……You’re just a love target. OXOXOO

     
  2. Kim

    April 27, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    I’ll never beat you?! I would definitely be more creeped out than annoyed! Which Starbucks were you at? Geez.. S Bux needs to clean it up!

     
  3. Terrence

    April 27, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    Emily. This is really funny.

     
  4. Teresa

    May 4, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    You know although creepy this is sweet. He probably just needed to share this with someone and was really more of a poem to someone personally in his life. I think this might have been refreshing for him and brightened his day.

     

Leave a Reply

